Has anybody here ridden a KTM 525?

58 replies to this topic
  • 4Takt

Posted April 24, 2006 - 10:41 AM

I have a XR650R and I basically like it alot. I sometimes wish for that power (or more) to come in a lighter, more nimble package.

Last time I rode a KTM was in 1983 (still ride an '83 Maico 490, my favorite bike ever), so I have no experience with the current crop of KTMs.

Last months MX Action mag's review of the 525 got me interested.
Have any of you guys on here actually ridden a 525 as well as a 650R?
What were your impressions?

Is it as reliable and hassle free a bike as the Honda?

4Takt

• TimBrp

Posted April 24, 2006 - 10:50 AM

From what I've read it's a tad more maintenance intensive. The oil changes suck. It's go the same valve/tappet setup as the XR so that's nice.

• motochris

Posted April 24, 2006 - 11:08 AM

I own both a 650 and 525. Realistically, the 525 is the best bike. The only advantage to the 650 so far is long milage comfort.
The 525 just RIPS when you are on the gas, yet is still very docile in the low rpm range. Handling is no comparison. As far as maintenance, I guess it depends on how much time you put on your bike. I don't think the KTM really takes much more than the XR. It may take slightly longer to do a complete oil change, but it's not like it's "intensive". Oil change on XR..10 minutes, KTM maybe 15.
I like both bikes, but the KTM is really the superior bike for me.

• Jon-D

Posted April 24, 2006 - 01:49 PM