fuel shutoff what is off and on?

11 replies to this topic
  • wr400rider

Posted April 14, 2006 - 08:55 AM

this is a dumb question but what is off and on my wr400? and should i be shutting it off after every ride? is crossways with the longer end of valve pointing towards off actually off? and where does the reserve fuel come from? i only have one tank.....sorry but im new to motorycles i come primarly from a snowmobile background.

• snmhanson

Posted April 14, 2006 - 09:50 AM

All of the bikes I've ever owned had the lever crossways or sideways for off. In general though it should be on when it is running parrallel to the fuel tube. As far as turning it off after every ride, if I'm not going to be riding within the next few days I turn it off and run the fuel out of my carb. I don't think just turning it off by itself will accomplish much unless you drain the carb as well though. I'm not an expert on these matters but since no one else responded yet I thought I would offer my marginal advice.

Matt

• Moto5

Posted April 14, 2006 - 10:45 AM

On most bikes there is a tube that runs an inch or so up into the tank from the petcock. The petcock is a three way valve, when the lever is in the on position the gas comes from the tube, when the lever is in the reserve position the gas comes from the bottom of the tank.

• kskyles

Posted April 14, 2006 - 12:33 PM

look closely at the petcock. on a couple of my bikes there is an arrow on the lever. sometimes the long end of the lever points to the status. On my WR, the long end points towards on/off/reserve. It is opposite on the KTM.

• Moto5

Posted April 14, 2006 - 12:38 PM

look closely at the petcock. on a couple of my bikes there is an arrow on the lever. sometimes the long end of the lever points to the status. On my WR, the long end points towards on/off/reserve. It is opposite on the KTM.