650r oil change question

19 replies to this topic
  • 2000 xr650r

Posted March 26, 2006 - 02:00 PM

Just got my oil changed on my brp and have a question. I ended up putting just short of 2 quarts in it. The manual says 1.7. When i checked it was a little over 3/4 of the way up the dipstick. Would you consider that too much? Where do you guys run yours at? Thanks, i am just a worry wart and need some one to comfort me before i get her on the road. I am new to dual sport riding and it seems fun.
All i want is the brp to be happy. lol So so much fun. Thanks

• D_F

Posted March 26, 2006 - 02:05 PM

Just make sure you check it after it has ran and been warmed up, or risk the coutershaft seal issue. I like to run mine close to full just to have more oil for cooling etc. Enjoy the ride.

• RdrMtn

Posted March 26, 2006 - 02:11 PM

I run mine close to full, too and end up putting more oil in than the manual says. I also started checking my oil while the engine is running, just for ease. Does checking oil while the engine is running hurt anything?

• BigBoreRacing

Posted March 26, 2006 - 08:54 PM

I run mine close to full, too and end up putting more oil in than the manual says. I also started checking my oil while the engine is running, just for ease. Does checking oil while the engine is running hurt anything?

[COLOR=Red]It won't "hurt" anything...but it won't give you an accurate reading[/COLOR]

• Thumpmeister

Posted March 27, 2006 - 01:49 AM

If I remember right, the manual says 1.7 for an old filter, and like 1.9 if the filter is replaced? If you replaced the filter, then thats about right; 2 quarts, because I've put 2 quarts in my bike before after a new filter, so I think you'll be okay. As long as you've replaced the countershaft seal w/ the updated piece. If you have a 2000 (like mine), and the seal hasn't been replaced, then it WILL blow out, and make a mess everywhere.

• TimBrp

Posted March 27, 2006 - 04:15 AM