Fuel Mileage??

14 replies to this topic
  • gjones

Posted March 14, 2006 - 07:31 AM

Okay at the risk of sounding like an idiot, I have a question about fuel mileage. I am new to the four stroke thing so go easy on me. I just bought an '06 YZ450 and race cross country. It was my understanding that thumpers typically get better mileage than smokers but this past weekend I had an issue with running out of gas. The course that we were running on was pretty wide open and very fast (4th and 5th straights) and very sandy. I realize that this will diminish mileage but I estimate I only ran about 25 miles on a stock tank (1.85 gallons) before running out. Does this sound right? I had several people tell me I had a problem somewhere but, the bike ran to good to have any mechanical issues, besides its brand new. Any thoughts????? :thumbsup:

• cowboyona426

Posted March 14, 2006 - 07:40 AM

gjones, I had that problem at first too. IMO, the new tank on the 450 makes it hard to tell how much gas you have in there, plus based on my post on the same topic it seems that during break-in they tend to burn a little more fuel. If it makes you feel better, I rode 1.0 hour on about 1/2 tank or so my first ride out and ran out. On ride 2, I rode 1.1 hours and used about the same amount of fuel as my cousin did on his 04 CRF 450. Don't sweat it too bad, it will probably get better with time.

• gjones

Posted March 14, 2006 - 07:45 AM

It just seems like a lot of fuel for such a short distance. I will need to get a good estimate on distance as I have another event in two weeks and don't want the same result. It really sucks sitting on the side of the track helpless when your pit is about 5 miles up the trail.

• kawirider

Posted March 14, 2006 - 10:34 AM