2006 YZ450 "after first ride" impressions.

56 replies to this topic
  • DSMotorsport

Posted March 04, 2006 - 06:36 PM

I got to ride my new 450 today at Blue Diamond MX in Delaware. Very very hardpack with a little bit of loose dirt/wood chips on top. It was very windy, so doing the jumps wasn't really safe. temp was about 40*F. Im a C novice rider, 210lb, age 27.

First off, the jetting is very lean. The bike pops and misfires at partial throttle and on decel but was easy to start. I have the stock jets other than a 170 main jet installed. It runs awsome at full throttle, the power is much much better than the 03 CRF Im coming off of. Hopefully a richer pilot will show up with ups this week in a big box of parts, as well as warmer weather will help out all this situation.

The suspension seems incredibly stiff on the little bumps and sharp edges. I turned the compression 5 clicks back on fork and 4 back on the shock. Didn't help much. I really really hope this is a "break in" kinda thing and it will smooth out with some riding time. I wasn't able to do most of the jumps due to the crosswind, so no idea on those.

I have alot of problems with steering. The fork are up in the clamp so that the scribed line in the fork tube is just a hair above the clamp. Stock bars, stock tire @ 13psi. The front seems to feel like it just doesn't have traction and wants to slide around. Im not getting along with it at all. It feels like it wants to run wide and come out of the berm alot, it just never feel solidly planted. The sketchy front end is a confidence killer for me, I don't trust it.