450 Newbie questions

5 replies to this topic
  • lone star

Posted February 22, 2006 - 11:21 AM

I'm new to the four stroke bikes and need some direction. About seven years ago I use to ride a Honda 125 and ended up sell the bike for some reason and have not been on a bike since. I just bought a 2002 WR426 with 300 mile on it and I am clues less as to the up keep of the four stroke. Is the maintance like the two strokes, and what does the hot start botton due?

• dbailey223

Posted February 22, 2006 - 12:55 PM

Hot start button is for starting when the bike is warmed up. I believe that is adds air into the carb to help it start when warm. You may or may not need to use it.

Never had a 2 stroke, so can't help on the maintenance comparisons. But, you will want to change the engine oil regularly and clean the air filter regularly.

• rich1167

Posted February 22, 2006 - 01:17 PM

Get a manual and fowlow the guide lines. The biggest differance between 2 and 4 stroke mantiance is the top end. They are completly differant. The rest is pretty much the same. Change the oil, clean the air filter, check and lube the chain, keep the bearings clean and greased.

http://www.walmart.c...duct_id=3416219

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • clark4131

Posted February 22, 2006 - 02:34 PM

You can get the international manual here for free. It's got Spanish, French and German supplements, but the main pages are in English. If you have Adobe Acrobat, you can edit out the foreign stuff...SC

• byggd

Posted February 22, 2006 - 02:47 PM

You can also find a lot of info here including the shop manual. It's for a YZ426 but most of it still applies.

• Sleeperdrz

Posted February 22, 2006 - 06:49 PM