Decisions? WR450, CRF450X

11 replies to this topic
  • CAW

Posted February 21, 2006 - 09:21 AM

I'm new to TT, but i love all the info I have been able to find so far. I am looking to up grade this spring and was wondering if any one had any opinions or reasion for one bike over the other? The mods seem to similar on both bikes, and I have read about the tranny problem on the CRF, does the WR have any similar problems that might help my decision? I have been leaning toward the WR, but I'm always open to new ideas. All opinions are welcom. :thumbsup:

• dbailey223

Posted February 21, 2006 - 09:40 AM

As far as I know and have read here, so problems with the WR such as the CRF's have

• dbailey223

As far as I know and have read here, no problems with the WR such as the CRF's have

• dbailey223

As far as I know and have read here, no problems with the WR such as the CRF's have

• SkyRaider

Posted February 21, 2006 - 09:43 AM

You can say that again.

• Just_a_trail_rider

Posted February 21, 2006 - 10:18 AM

The CRF450X seems to be getting beat up a bit by the perception of bad valves and bad trannies.

I know a guy that has a crf450x one and he has had absolutely no problems. However, he is pretty handy with a wrench and stays on top of things. I think the Honda guys would tell you to stays on top of things, be religious with your maintenence, and you will never have a problem.

On the other hand, I have the WR and I simply change the oil and clean the filter after a good days ride. I checked the valves and they are just fine. It may be a little easier maintenance wise.

They both are probably really good bikes, but since you are in the Yamaha forum, I will say "Get the Yamaha!"

I did and I am very happy.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • clark4131

Posted February 21, 2006 - 10:20 AM