XR650R Carburetion problem.

10 replies to this topic
  • Mudshark

Posted February 19, 2006 - 08:08 AM

I have a new ’06, I’ve :

1. pulled the snorkel and plastic thing from the air box.
2. Put a 172 main jet.
3. 68s Pilot jet.
4. The stock needle is on 4th clip from the top.
5. New "uncorked" carb. manifold
6. FMF Q2 slip on with stock header.

The problem is that when (at 3.5 – 4.5k rpm) I try to roll on the gas nice and smooth,
It doesn't, it kind of jerks / snaps in. the same applies when I try to roll off the gas. It kind of
Snaps shut. So I end up with a bit of an “On / Off” switch feeling.
It may in fact be doing this at higher rpm, but it’s most noticeable at these speeds
In the tight stuff….. right when you DO NOT NEED THIS !!!!
Help!

• madxr4

Posted February 19, 2006 - 08:36 AM

I am very new to this and just did the same mods myself with the exception of the 68s. Also a 170 instead of 172. On the advice of a local rider/racer/tuner I left the 65s and adjusted the air:fuel 2.5 turns out. (it's the recessed screw on the right side of the carb just above the float bowl) You may need to adjust that but I'll leave the specifics to those who know.
Did you open up the carb to head manifold?
Are all the vacuum lines in the right places on the carb?

• Mudshark

Posted February 19, 2006 - 08:50 AM

Did you open up the carb to head manifold?
Are all the vacuum lines in the right places on the carb?

Yes.. sory I fogot to mention that - I've updated the post to include the
manifold.
The lines were never moved... so I assume they are all okay.
It is running a bit rich, plug reads tan in the center with a bit of black
around the outsides.... nothing terrible.

• madxr4

Posted February 19, 2006 - 09:17 AM

Maybe the 172 is a bit fat?
Check/fiddle with the mixture screw?
I was told to set it 2.5 out from lightly seated and make 1/4 turn adjustments.

Again, I'm very new to this and speaking from even less experience with this bike.
Good luck with it.

• Outrider