426 Cam chain jumped time?

7 replies to this topic
  • 426WROhio

Posted February 14, 2006 - 09:10 AM

My 01 426 decided she didn't want to start on her own anymore. Might have sat too ling between rides, but oil was changed and air filter cleaned frequnetly. Either way, with a pull start or "poppin'" the clutch down hill, she fired right up and ran fine. I took it into the shop for carb cleaning and valve adjustment. They think the cam chain jumped time or the valves clearance was too tight, because I have bent intake valves. (leak test shows 60% leakage... and i was riding it like that?! I am no mechanic, butI do question that...)
My delima is this: If they are gonna rebuilt the top end, what would YOU do to increase performance while you were in there? I can probably afford an extra $300 or so for upgrades vs. stock. They gave me a ballpark of $1000 to $1500 for the topend rebuild. Right now, they are looking at the bottom end. (Which should be fine!) The bike is stock, and I trail ride and hillclimb.

• Ripmeister

Posted February 14, 2006 - 08:24 PM

I really don't know that there's anything you can do - for any price. Once that stuff's in good shape, the bike is all about jetting. The motor is really hard to improve on at that level. I think you'd really have to be exceptional to notice any differences.

Good luck :thumbsup:

• 642MX

Posted February 14, 2006 - 08:53 PM

Get a Wiseco 13.5:1 piston. Its one of the best things I've done with my 426. It will give it alot harder pull from idle to about 9500 rpms.

• 426WROhio

Posted February 15, 2006 - 08:53 AM

Thanks for the reply! I was told I could get it ported and polished, but the cost wasn't clear. Jetting, huh? Since I'll owe the local Yamaha shop my next born child, maybe I can have them check that out.
Thanks! I can't wait until the weather breaks!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • 426WROhio