91 xr600r bore kit

4 replies to this topic
  • bigtooth

Posted February 13, 2006 - 10:26 AM

This is my first time posting here, and I was hoping to get some advice.
I have a 91 XR, last year I had to replace alot of the top end. I had the work done and the mechanic put over sized rings in it, but it still smokes pretty good. Theres no doubt it could use a bore kit, but I want to try to do the work myself and send the cylinder away. But I don't know what options I have. If someone could give me an idea of what I'm up against, or point me in a good direction it would be much appreciated.

• targetdrone

Posted February 13, 2006 - 09:42 PM

First off, welcome to Thumpertalk.

The XR600 is fairly bulletproof. It must have a lot of miles or been neglected to need a rebuild. When does the bike smoke? If it smokes upon start-up, it is usually a sign of leaky valve stem seals. If it smokes after it has warmed up and upon acceleration, then it is usually rings. Too much oil can contribute to that as well, but that is not common. The XR's can wear the cam chain and tensioner, causing it to jump a tooth (or more) on the timing, which in turn can make the bike run poorly, or even not at all. If that does happen, you can have piston/valve interference.

Since you said you 'had' to replace top end parts, I would assume one of the above happened rather than you were just upgrading components.

Before tearing the motor apart again, check your compression and give us some details on the smoke.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • bigtooth

Posted February 14, 2006 - 06:41 AM