xl600 hard starting!!!!!!!

9 replies to this topic
  • soccermania688

Posted February 11, 2006 - 08:24 AM

i have a 1987 xl600r and it has a hard starting problem! it takes about six to seven kicks to get it started when its cold! but i can never get it started when its hot it justs to hard to kick and when i do get a good kick it doesn't fire up! the only way i cna really get it started is roll-start down my driveway. i need to find the solution so i can take it on trails and not have to worry about it. it has a manaul de-compression only. also a supertrapp muffler if that means anything. also whats a hot-start lever, should i have one of thoses to start it when its hot? i'm new to big-bore bikes, but i am a mechanic and not new to dirt bike either so i'm open to any suggestions! the carb has just been cleaned so i dont think this is the problem!

• bajabinder

Posted February 11, 2006 - 09:13 AM

1- Hard starting cold usually means it's too lean on the air screw or pilot jet.
2- Hard start when hot usually means too much fuel.

You did'nt tell us how it runs when it is running....so I'm just gonna make some suggestions.

- When you cleaned the carb, did you disassemble/clean the jets? Check the float level?

- Have you tested the ignition? (i.e. pulse generator, stator output, coil, plug and wire) You can't check the CDI, BUT if the CDI is going bad then it could cause the symptoms that you're describing.