2003 YZF450 Suspension suggestions

7 replies to this topic
  • gardnpa185

Posted February 06, 2006 - 05:25 PM

I am switching over from 2-strokes to an '03 YZF450. What suspension mods would you suggest? I am a reasonably fast Vet rider who weighs 200lbs.

The last time I rode the bike the rear suspension felt pretty good, but the forks were harsh. The handle bars were almost ripped out of my hands on braking bumps.

Any advice is welcome.

Thanks in advance.

-Paul 185

• Matt96xr6

Posted February 06, 2006 - 06:44 PM

First get the correct spring rates installed front and rear for your weight. After that get the forks and shock revalved to your specs. Be sure to work with the suspension shop and tell them what you want, what you dont like.

Personally did all that on my 450 for my buddy, then swapped out a set of 05 front forks on the bike. That is the ticket!

• PK

Posted February 06, 2006 - 07:37 PM

Matt, what did you have to change to get the 05 forks on the 03? I would like to put a set of twin chambered Showa's on mine but I'm not sure if that's possible at a reasonable price. That is the main complaint I have with my 03, even after all the valving and spring work, it still sucks compared to my Honda's.

• DPW

Posted February 06, 2006 - 07:53 PM

Matt, what did you have to change to get the 05 forks on the 03?

I would think all you need is the upper and lower triple clamps from a '04 or '05, but that is just a guess.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • 450_rider

Posted February 06, 2006 - 09:50 PM

A little while ago grayracer was talking about how he put 04 forks on his 03, it was pretty interesting to read. I really thought about doing it, maby he will pipe in on this

• grayracer513

Posted February 06, 2006 - 11:48 PM

I would think all you need is the upper and lower triple clamps from a '04 or '05, but that is just a guess.

Right you are. :thumbsup:

• Gizabious