O.K. guys whats next?

10 replies to this topic
  • Pilate74

Posted February 02, 2006 - 08:10 PM

I am posting a progress report. I have been out of the sport for 12 years. I have been practicing for 1 1/2 months. Lost 30 pounds and have been getting ready to start racing again. I am switching to desert from MX. At 29 I can not hang with you younger guys in MX. I used to be a semi pro swimmer and a good football/baseball player. What body fat % do I need to desert race? I am 6' tall and my doctor told me 245 is my healthy body weight. I remember my swimming weight as being close to 230. I am 260 right now. Somebody told me that there is an ideal desert motorcycle racing body fat percentage and that is my goal. My question is how far should I go? It only takes me a month to lose 30. I know I have to get rid of the beer belly before my metabolism slows down. Please make all the fat jokes you want, it just motivates me more! I can still press 350,
so screw you 120 pound guys who think I am lazy on my weights.

• wr450fyamaha

Posted February 02, 2006 - 08:27 PM

i dunno man, im 16, 6' and about 190. it really all depends on how much muscle u have.....generally about 6-22% body fat is considered healthy. But if you can haul 35% around the desert, go fo it. I would probably shoot for around 25-28% if i were you.

• Pilate74

Posted February 02, 2006 - 08:49 PM

i dunno man, im 16, 6' and about 190. it really all depends on how much muscle u have.....generally about 6-22% body fat is considered healthy. But if you can haul 35% around the desert, go fo it. I would probably shoot for around 25-28% if i were you.