98 WR400 extremly hard to start need help fast!

16 replies to this topic
  • WR400Fdunk

Posted January 23, 2006 - 05:36 PM

hey, i'm new to TT... i just bought a 98 wr400 its in really good shape the first owner bought it new in 99, he installed a whitebrothers e series pipe some time befor selling it to some local guy due to rusted original pipe. the local guy changed out the plastic in an attempt to make it look like a yz. it has various mods very few to the motor. i bought it for 1500(a steal) the motor and frame are clean enough to eat off of it has seen the track but never water or mud, no rust or cracks. im curious about the jetting, the thing is really hard to start. i understand how to start it. but the thing backfires like crazy and wont idle unless u rev the guts out of it.. it takes atleast 25 kicks to get it running and anyones who owns a 400 knows how much compression they have.. by the time i get it going im to tired to ride it.. the bike never came with any disc for the exhaust i dont want to buy any i just want to get it where its easy to start. im curious if anyone has had this problem and can help me with what jets i should buy, or tell me what im doing wrong. also is there a half choke on the carb, most carbs i have seen have a closed,half and full choke. i wasnt sure if mine was sticking in the half way position of if it even has a half open position. any help would be great thanks alot... wayne.. oh and by the way as far as i know the carb has the stock or original jets in it. the thing backfires and pops constantly even when warmed up, somtimes it backfires really loud when kicking it.. please help if you know anything.. thanks

• TTBILL

Posted January 23, 2006 - 05:39 PM

sounds like its to lean

• dbailey223

Posted January 23, 2006 - 05:52 PM