Does WR 426 2001 have battery?

7 replies to this topic
  • mfp1706

Posted January 15, 2006 - 01:06 PM

Hello from Germany...
I just bought a 2001 WR426 and I wonder if it has a battery...?
I did not find one so far. Lighting etc. works fine when running. Taillight , Horn etc.
And even a long while after I turn it off, I can honk the horn. But not for long.
There must be a battery somewhere... there is none in or above the airbox.
Help... where is it. Does anybody have a WR Wiring Diagramm?

Other thing: Why does my bike not have a coolant reservoir. I got one (with some obscure tubes) in a cardbord box that came with the bike... Do I not need that?

The questions may sound stupid but I am new with this 4stroke bike.
But I was able to start it a couple of times... and test ride in our garden...
Hot start is still a secret to me

Matze

• hamboney

Posted January 15, 2006 - 01:42 PM

If it doesnt have electric start ,,which they didnt come out with till 03 or 04
it shouldnt have a battery,,I have an 01 wr250 basicly same bike just bigger motor,,no battery,,I dont know what to tell you about your horn,,,i;ve never seen a dirt bike with a horn,,after market maybe,,runs off vacume ??
I guess you dont need overflow,,the guy before must have been concerned about weight,,I would re-install it or keep a closer eye on fluid since they to boil over now and then .If all eles fails call dealership and get your hands on manual ,,good luck

• WildRide

Posted January 15, 2006 - 03:15 PM

You need to find a manual.

• Bamster

Posted January 15, 2006 - 03:23 PM

Check behind the headlight.
The previous owner might have wired in a nickel cad.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • tshe1

Posted January 15, 2006 - 09:41 PM

Hello from Germany...
I just bought a 2001 WR426 and I wonder if it has a battery...?
I did not find one so far. Lighting etc. works fine when running. Taillight , Horn etc.