XR 650 Electric Start?

10 replies to this topic
  • BajaRat

Posted January 05, 2006 - 01:55 PM

Have run a search with no results for electric start for 650R. I would sure appreciate feedback from people that now have the button on their 650r's.

Please help me with gathering info on this as I am a veteran with a lot of hardware in my right leg and I get tired trying to start on cold days, and spills.

Thanks.

• Wheels up

Posted January 05, 2006 - 01:57 PM

Steroids

Lol joking joking.

Not sure but I would imagine someone out there must have one.

• snaggleXR650

Posted January 05, 2006 - 03:39 PM

Hello,
I don't use one myself, but I've heard a bit. You can buy the kit at Bajadesigns.com, there site is kinda goofy, so just go into the "Online Store" and look for XR650R electric start. It's $875, not cheap. It's not the best looking kit as the starter motor is mounted right above the left side of the motor. The battery is tucked in up under the gas tank and carb. I've heard that the gear ratio is different for the kicker and the electric starter (kicker will still work) so you have to pull in the decomp lever so that the motor can turn over the engine. Other than looks, and price it supposedly works well. I believe you will need a stator rewind also to make enough juice to charge the big battery etc... That's another $125.

Here's a couple links.

http://www.thumperta... electric start

• knuklehead

Posted January 05, 2006 - 07:42 PM

Joe racer products has a clean kit,almost looks factory.

• Old_Man_Time

Posted January 05, 2006 - 08:39 PM

I have been running the Baja Designs E-Start for going on 2 years. No problems. It is kinda ugly but very nice to have in a pinch.