01 XR650R new on dealer floor

11 replies to this topic
  • bandicoot

Posted December 30, 2005 - 11:02 AM

Hey Everyone...I'm new to the 650 forum, been riding a crf 450 and crf250 the last couple years.
Anyway I've put together a team to run the 06 Baja 1000. So, I've been looking for a couple 650s. I found a new on the dealer floor 2001 XR 650R. My question is how much is this thing worth. How much less should I be paying for a new 01 vrs a new 05. Besides the clutch bushing / counter shaft seal the only difference I see is the resale value on a 01 vrs 05.
I'm in Canada so the prices are slightly different than the US. Here's approx prices in US.

05 model US $5650
01 model US $4750

Any ideas?

Thanks everyone for all the great info on this forum!!!

• mikekay

Posted December 30, 2005 - 03:02 PM

you can get better prices.

there were '04's available this time last year for $5k otd.

I will sell you a fully prepped baja 1000 ready bike for $6000.
(re-wound stator, tank, 15/47 gearing (ironman sprocket), new DID ERV2 gold chain, pro tapers, GPR V2 stabilizer, drilled exhaust, edelbrock pumper carb, ohlins shock, re-valved forks, cut out airbox cover, spare air filters, oil sight tube, skid plate, excell rims, 8 guage spokes, 100 watt day light, re-enforced sub frame, all new plastic, freshly rebuilt motor, fresh bearings, etc. etc.

The bike also has a license plate for California.

• needsprayer

Posted December 30, 2005 - 03:26 PM

This bike should sell fast. :applause:

• don87xr600

Posted December 30, 2005 - 04:03 PM

Offer him $4600, if they don't take it tell'em you'll be back next week to offer $4500. :applause:

• GRAHAM25

Posted December 30, 2005 - 05:04 PM

Screw Dat. I got a 2002 XR 650R from a dealer this past summer for $3,500 zero miles.
Talk Um down!!!!

Good Luck

• Stinson

Posted January 02, 2006 - 08:04 AM

There is an 03 sitting on the show room floor here in MD brand new for 3700. Smokin deal. Cya Stinson