Mr. Bill, YZ timing ?

17 replies to this topic
  • WRFUN

Posted September 03, 2001 - 02:52 PM

Taking my bike in to get YZ timed. What do you think if I have the shop start with your jetting bench marks, living here in Chicagoland ILL. Also I did the grey wire mod and it produced a bad hesitation from 0-1/4 throttle, and got worse when I put the cork back in the exhaust ( trying for stealth here in town, COPS). But seemed to pull better after 1/4 throttle. So I reconnected the grey wire till after YZ timing. I'm new to dirt bike riding and this hole thumper bussiness which I'm starting to LOVE. Any help would be great.

Thanks,

pete

• MN_Kevin

Posted September 03, 2001 - 03:35 PM

what year is your WR?

------------------
'99 WZ/YR (you choose!) with ALL YZ mods, de-octopused, DSP Doug Henry airbox w/ velocity stack, FMF PowerBomb header, Stroker SX-1 silencer, SS front brake line, OEM YZ tank, IMS YZ seat.

• WRFUN

Posted September 03, 2001 - 06:24 PM

SORRY !!!!!!!!!!!

99 WR400
uncorked stock pipe
lid off
throttle screw cut

• Bill

Posted September 04, 2001 - 03:21 PM

Sorry dude, thought I replied to this. Yes, you can use my jetting for a baseline on your 99 and YZ timing.

Remember to make all your adjustments and gather feedback, once the bike is fully warmed up (at least 15 minutes)

I have not done the grey wire thing, my bike is scary enough :)

Bill

------------------
99 WR400f, YZ timed, MX-Tech suspension, Scotts steering damper, White Bros E-Series (12 discs), tapered header and a/f. Kouba T-handle for the fuel screw. Works Connection billet throttle tube and frame guards. Cycra Pro-Bend, triple clamp mount handguards. Thumper Racing rad guards, Renthal Jimmy Button highs, YZ Tank and IMS seat, YZ number plate, odo removed, EKP #4, 50PJ, 175MJ at 500-1000' Thanks James Dean!

• WRFUN

Posted September 04, 2001 - 05:04 PM

Bill,