Worth rebuilding XL 600 RF wiring harness?

2 replies to this topic
  • aaronjthompson

Posted December 16, 2005 - 06:20 AM

I am currently rebuilding a low mileage 1985 Honda XL 600RF as a supermoto and it was running fine but has sat garaged for 7 years.

Before I reassemble it and find there might be an electrical problem would it be worth taking the electrical harness to a motorcycle electrician to test and possibly rebuild - or even just rebuild as preventative maintenance as it's 21 years old and cables deteriorate?

I'm not an electrician so can anybody advise me about what I should do and whether it's a waste of money having the wiring harness checked or even rebuilt as a precaution?

Perth, Western Australia.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Shawn_Mc

Posted December 16, 2005 - 02:04 PM

Id try it first. The harness on the 83 XR500 a guy gave me was a mess but still worked fine. Since I got the bike running I cleaned up the harness with new connectors and things. Get the thing partially assembled and just check it all before you final assemble the bike. The harness comes off in a couple minutes.

• Terrain Rider 4z

Posted December 16, 2005 - 03:39 PM

Try it first, we are talking about Honda, not General Motors!

Related Content

FCR40 Tuning Woes- XR600R by aTuWitty

Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Honda   XR600/650
  • Hot  37 replies

2015 XR650L Squeaking noise by Crayjay

• 3 replies

ignitech programmable XR650L CDI by brianhare

• Hot  60 replies

93 xr650l Restoration Project by Zigster

• 17 replies

What was your path to Beta? by officialhopsof

Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Beta
  • Hot  79 replies

Join Our Community!

Even if you don't want to post, registered members get access to tools that make finding & following the good stuff easier.