Runs good but......

4 replies to this topic
  • ESC

Posted December 02, 2005 - 07:19 AM

My 2001 YZ426. Stock except for an FMF Ti4 pipe. Not sure on the jetting.

The bike starts easy, has great power but....when riding at a steady RPM, say down a dirt road or whatever, it misses. It only does this when holding a steady RPM. I've only had this bike for about 2 months and I'm new to Yamaha's so I don't even know where to begin.

My buddy also bought a used 01 YZ426 at about the same time I did and his does the same thing.

Any suggestions?

• Wyatt

Posted December 02, 2005 - 07:40 AM

I am guessing this is not WOT steady rpm and is at a cruising speed.

You need to lower your needle one position. If that does not help, raise it one postition. If it runs good evefrywhere else, but misses at a cruise speed, the needle is most likely off. It sounds a little rich.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • ovrrdrive

Posted December 02, 2005 - 08:49 AM

I thought this was something there was nothing you could do about and that we just had to deal with... :applause:

I recall something about a side effect of the type of carburetor they used...

You can lessen it, but I don't think you can get it to go away completely.

• Wyatt

Posted December 02, 2005 - 08:50 AM

It can be fixed.

• ESC

Posted December 02, 2005 - 09:01 AM

Wyatt - Thanks, I'll take a look at the position of the needle.

Overrdrve - Your statement makes me think that this is a common issue on this bike. Especially since my friend's bike does the same thing.

Any other opinions? GreyRacer?

TIA

Related Content

x

Join Our Community!

Even if you don't want to post, registered members get access to tools that make finding & following the good stuff easier.

If you enjoyed reading about "" here in the ThumperTalk archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join ThumperTalk today!