Need Help on Chain Adjustment

4 replies to this topic
  • Mountain Road Madness

Posted November 26, 2005 - 06:47 AM

Ive searched different threads on the adjustments. I'm hoping someone could help me on the proper adjustment procedures. This is my first BRP and I'm still learning proper adjustments. At first I tried adjusting the chain with bike setting normal,no suspension compressed. That didn't work lol. Now I adjust it with the suspension compressed. The chain still seem to have too much sag. If anyone out there could tell me the proper adjustment procedure I would appreciate it. :applause: :ride:

• dusk

Posted November 26, 2005 - 07:06 AM

when i do my chain i make sure it is on a stand so the rear wheel is elevated... then i pretty much just use the tick marks on the axle blocks and on the swing arm to gauge the adjustment. i try to make sure there is an inch and a half of slack from middle of the chain to middle of the chain.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • snaggleXR650

Posted November 26, 2005 - 07:06 AM

Up on a stand, you need 1" of travel up/down in the middle of the chain (halfway between front and rear sprocket). Straight from the Honda Service manual, you have one of those don't you? If not get one ASAP.

The chain will be tightest when the swingarm is inline with the front sprocket, it will have it's most slack while up on a stand.

• hotwheels

Posted December 03, 2005 - 03:23 PM