K@N air filters?

11 replies to this topic
  • TeamEndo

Posted November 23, 2005 - 08:13 AM

Has anyone tried one of the K&N MX Xstream paper element filters on their bike? I did a search but didn't find anything. Noticed Nathan Woods runs one on his YZ, read all their marketing speak, but wanted a real world review..seems like a logical move given their presence in the rest of the motorsports industry.

• CV4

Posted November 23, 2005 - 08:39 AM

I personally wouldn't run the K&N's on anything that is exposed to dust. They simply will not filter out fine dust. Air flow may be slightly better on a clean K&N compared to a foam filter but once they get a little dirty the foam will flow better.

• Dolce_Grappa

Posted November 23, 2005 - 10:45 AM

I've been running one for 6 months. I was skeptical, but figured my trucks have one and they didn't pass any dust driving to and from the tracks. My first test was a complete race weekend, went home removed sub-frame and airbox w/filter left alone inside. Once off i looked up the snorkel zero dust. I was sold.

BTW all my foam filters have past a little dust (I've used stock, twin air, and uni filter). I've even tried different filter oils, always a little dust has gone through. I guess if you ride 4 motos, plus practice its bound to happen.

• TeamEndo

Posted November 23, 2005 - 11:39 AM

Thanks for the review, I figured if top WORCS racers are running it, it can't be bad, but i agree, it may need to be cleaned more often than a foam element. Did you have to change jetting? K&N says they pass more air than a standard foam filter....so.....?

• MotoGoalie

Posted November 23, 2005 - 12:14 PM

I personally wouldn't run the K&N's on anything that is exposed to dust. They simply will not filter out fine dust. Air flow may be slightly better on a clean K&N compared to a foam filter but once they get a little dirty the foam will flow better.

Same here. I wouldn't run them. I have run them in the past. I won't ever again.