WR400 / 426 The good...the bad....???

9 replies to this topic
  • tizzer

Posted November 23, 2005 - 07:17 AM

Im new to the WR series, and am in need of knowledgeable advice.

Can you guys tell me of any weak links in these bikes ? Was the early ones (98 and 99) any troubles ?? What are the improvements as you go to the next newer years. Was the improvements significant? Im trying to decide if I can justify the additional cost of the newer models. A 450 is to pricey for my budget.....but I dont know if the difference between a older 98 vs say, a 2000 is technically improved to the degree to make any difference ??

PLEASE HELP....I got the thumpin itch...but want to make a educated decision?

Thanks Tizzer :applause:

• R_Little

Posted November 23, 2005 - 09:31 AM

The 98 through 2002 400/426 are basically the same.

Differrent rear wheel in '99
slightly differnt frame in 00
integrated hot start in 00
bigger bore and larger small end bearing in 01 w'426
titanium valves in 00 --- some like the steel valves better.
slightly diff swingarm and linkage in 02

Basically the same bike though.

Very reliable if a touch overweight for a race bike.

• byggd

Posted November 23, 2005 - 09:56 AM

Both are pretty bullet proof. IMO the best of the group is the 02 wr426 :applause:

• bluethundaaaa

Posted November 23, 2005 - 03:08 PM

I agree....My 02 WR426 has not had a problem I didn't create. It has way more power then I will ever need.....however I did have the suspension revalved for my weight and riding style......That just made it all the better though. :applause:

• Rich_in_Orlando

Posted November 23, 2005 - 04:47 PM