Ordered a cam today

6 replies to this topic
  • Ramcc4x4

Posted November 15, 2005 - 06:41 PM

I have been debating ordering a camshaft for my XR650R for a long time. I sold a few old truck parts that were sitting in my garage and came up with some extra $$$. Today I finally ordered a Hotcam stage 1 cam. I found it online for $129.95 and was unfortunately charged $10.00 for UPS ground which I thought was steep for what the part is. Anybody have any tech tips for the install? I have rebuilt a V8 engine in the past and can pay attention to detail so I'm hoping the instructions are well written.

With the open air box, hi-rev cdi, Edelbrock, header and pipe it should do well in the mid-upper rpm range.

Has anyone purchased this cam and not been happy with the results?

• maddmickey

Posted November 15, 2005 - 09:35 PM

I just put the stage 1 in my bike a couple of months ago, and i'm verry happy with it. I'm an auto mechanic and kind of new to bikes, but the instal was fairly straight forward. The hardest part was pressing the sprocket piece off and on to the new cam. If you rebuilt a motor, and have a service manual it will be easy. :applause:

• Ramcc4x4

Posted November 16, 2005 - 06:22 PM

I did a search and noticed the issue with the cam sprocket. I ordered a new one and a new bolt the same day I ordered the cam. I'm glad to hear you've been happy with the cam. I can't wait to get it out to the desert next month!!!!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Thumpmeister

Posted November 16, 2005 - 06:56 PM

Whats the site where you found the cam for that price?

• Ramcc4x4

Posted November 17, 2005 - 12:02 PM

Whats the site where you found the cam for that price?

Here's the site:

• Ramcc4x4

Posted November 19, 2005 - 08:31 PM

When I install the cam next week should I richen the Edelbrock 1-2 clicks or just try it out and see how it does?

• Supplicate

Posted November 20, 2005 - 07:10 AM