electric start removal ?'s

7 replies to this topic
  • CharlesFP

Posted November 13, 2005 - 10:48 PM

1) What do, exactly, do I do with the wiring after I remove the battery? I've noticed that the bike won't start without it. I've been told to "ground" the wires. I have no idea what that means. I'm a rookie so I need dummy instructions
2) How, exactly, do I plug up the void that is left where the starter motor used to be?
3) Should I get a YZ kick starter? Are they different from the WR part? The WR kickstarter seems pretty minimalist.

If anyone has any helpful pointers for this process, please let me know.

To all the knowlegeable wrenchers out there--you're making life easier for people less adept than yourselves. Thanks.

• ncmountainman

Posted November 14, 2005 - 06:57 AM

for one the yz/wr kicker are basically the same. pro-tec makes a billet kicker that is shorter and spins the motor a little faster(i run one) as far as the ground, the neg lead that goes the batt needs to be grounded to the frame(i put mine to the regulator bolt) and after removing the ign switch just cross the wires and it will be always ready to start. i removed a lb of extra wires and crap that was not needed after starter removal. as far as the hole, being from cali you might have a harder time finding one, but a 1-3/8" (i think,you might want to remeasure the hole) expandable rubber freeze plug from a auto parts store does very well :applause:

• stealman

Posted November 14, 2005 - 07:08 AM

Is there anything else that should be taken off besides the battery, wires and starter motor?

• hybridz77

Posted November 14, 2005 - 08:07 AM

Also 03 And 04 Models Have Different Size Kickstart Shaft Diameters (wr)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • ncmountainman

Posted November 14, 2005 - 08:13 AM

Is there anything else that should be taken off besides the battery, wires and starter motor?