xr600 misfire at 1/4 throttle

Hi all...i have a '91 XR 600 , single carb model . it was running fine but has suddenly developed a realy bad misfire at anything over 1/4 throttle, with slight black exhaust smoke. have checked the carb, CDI, coil, plug, fuel and thats all fine....it's like almost valve bounce or riding with the choke half up! i am a very good mechanic and have checked all the obvious things but no luck! any ideas out there ? thanks chopp

cam timing off ? pull the cam cover off and rotate to TDC check the cam sprocket alignment marks flush with the head. Cam chain may be very worn and slipped a tooth - very rare - but possible. They will still run, idle poor, loose throttle response and exhibit a running rich charecteristic (wisps to puffy black smoke) also check your plug I bet it is black....

....hmmm, the plug is black but dry and sooty, not wet.Pulling the the cam cover is the next thing to do tomorrow night after work! funnily enough the bike was running great yesterday , had a good 4hour hard trail ride in slippery mud and fast road 80/90mph ,bike was fine when i turned if off . In the morning i washed it with a garden hose and brush , and it was a pig to start , and when it did it had the 1/4 throttle problem! ...thanks for the info on checking the cam timing, i'll do that and let you know...cheers chopp

Sounds like the timing to me m8. My xr600 did exactly the same thing, fine when I put it to bed, running like a pig(pardon the pun) the day after. Pulled it apart to find that the camchain had jumped 11 teeth! Its a wonder it started at all! Now its rebuilt, rebored, new camchain etc, its back to its usual self, trying to kill me at any opportunity. Good luck m8 and let us all know your findings.....

:banghead: