WR400 frame with 450 motor...

7 replies to this topic
  • Skyllz

Posted October 30, 2005 - 04:38 PM

Here is the deal... In Quebec we have a licence plate rating by cc and anything under 400 is WAY cheaper to plate and insure...The go by model/seriel number on the frames. So anything in a 400cc frame and i'm set

I want to built me a little motard for fun rides that would double has a woods machine once in a while.

Does the more recent WR450 motor bolt into a WR400 frame? If not, alot of mods would be required? I'm a decent welder/fabricator, I would not be worried about that part but if someone has already been down that path before any hints would be appreciated.

• vmxr

Posted October 30, 2005 - 05:07 PM

Sorry I haven't tried that setup. But this sounds like a really interesting project!

However if you need measurements, I own both a 00 WR400 and an 03 WR450. I would be willing to measure both as long as I don't have to disassemble anything.

Hopefully, somebody has done this and knows all the ins and outs.

• simon@vic

Posted October 30, 2005 - 06:14 PM

will not bolt up. modding needed.

• RottenRich

Posted October 31, 2005 - 01:15 AM

This is what l done.

First l had to cut off the rear sump guard mount so the engine would sit right.
The spindle that goes through the swinging arm and engine is bigger for the 450 so l had to get a sleeve made up, didn't cost much.
The bottom engine engine mounts need to be moved forward or what l did was file out the bolt holes and use a smaller engine bolt.
The top engine mount on the 400 has 3 bolts through the frame where the 450 only has 2, you'll have to use the 450 brackets and cut off the front bolt hole from the frame, l was going to just leave it unused but found because the 450 has the coil built into the spark plug cap there's not enough room to get the cap on and off other wise.