New to the dirt thing

13 replies to this topic
  • scratchadams

Posted October 30, 2005 - 02:18 PM

I am thinking about getting an XR650R. I am new to dirt. I am trying to get all the info on this that I can. I am 5'11 270. So yes I am a fat ass! I am working on that problem. But, since I am new to this. I would use this bike to commute to work. I have about 5000 acres in NW Oklahoma. I would like to learn to trail ride. No MX. I am too old for that. Can I get some suggestions on what bike would be best? Also if you can plant some ideas for the gear I will need. Thanks

• wr450fyamaha

Posted October 30, 2005 - 03:35 PM

5000 acres? man i wish i has a hundreth of that.

• justicedone

Posted October 30, 2005 - 06:08 PM

I think a highly modded L may be just what your looking for. You can see a few pics of mine in the ol "garage" and get an idea of what I have done to a stock L model XR650. Its a great trail bike and can get pretty much anywhere I have the need to go. I wish I had a few acres myself..shit 2 would do for me, wanna seel a few cheap? We can ride together then...lol

• GIANTac1

Posted October 30, 2005 - 06:39 PM

Yo Bro,
cant get much better than "L"! Go for it and have your "fat" ass a pig squealing good time!

• BWB63

Posted October 30, 2005 - 06:40 PM

I have some good friends that are 270+ pounds that can realy make the XR650R sing/rock and roll. http://www.borynack....ce/bwbvideo.htm

http://www.borynack....h_to_to_hav.htm

The XR650R is much lighter then the XR650L by fifty pounds.
The XR650R is much more powerfull then the XR650L. 6hp difference. 8 foot pounds of torque difference.