Just picked up an 05 WR450F

11 replies to this topic
  • dustin_bray

Posted October 26, 2005 - 05:09 PM

Well, I'll soon be racing again. Sold the Duc and picked up a beautiful 05 WR450F today... it's PRIMO!!! Anyhow, all I've ridden is YZs, so I'm relatively new to the WRs. I would appreciate any and all suggestions for mods and some answers to a few questions:

1. Is the exhaust cam retarded one tooth like it used to be or is that just a myth?
2. Are there any other free mods I need to do than the grey wire mod, throttle stop, air box snorkle and the smog crap removal?
3. I have noticed that the exhaust cam plug replacements are not applicable to the 05 WRs... does this mean that Yamaha has fixed the plug-blowout problem? I haven't had a chance to look at the bike yet.
4. Is the stock drain plug magnetic? If not, I need to pick up one.

Think that's it for now. I'll appreciate all your replies. :banghead:

• ibleedblu

Posted October 26, 2005 - 06:18 PM

Congrats on the new bike, your going to love it!!!!! As for your Q's I had an 03 WR450 and as far as i know thats all the free mods you can do to the bike. As for the timing thing its not werth it IMO. Cuz i did it to my bike it didnt change much, that i could tell anyway. And for Q # 3 the cam plug is no longer a problem, And as for the drain plug, im not sure. good luck, Hope I Have Helped. :banghead:

• chiefsfan.58

Posted October 26, 2005 - 07:20 PM

Welcome to a better bike.
The timing is off one tooth from the YZ timing. Most of the people I have read from say that they changed it, then changed it back because it took away from the low end grunt that made them want the WR in the first place.
The decomp plug may be an issue depending on how far into '05 the bike was built. From what I have read..... some still had the plugs and the rest (like mine ) are solid casted over where the plug used to be.
OEM drain plug is not a magnetic type plug but you can get one from most dealerships easily.