04 WR450 glowing red header

14 replies to this topic
  • mbeck76

Posted October 26, 2005 - 01:22 PM

I am new to the whole 4 stroke world but this doesn't seem right. I have an 04 WR450 absolutely love the bike but I have noticed when warming it up. The header starts glowing?? It doesn't happen while riding just when its sitting idling. Is it running too lean? I have put all mods on it and it seems to be jetted right the plug has a nice tan look. It doesn't hesitate or bog out. I just have never seen this before. Anyone else out there with this issue??

• XT2YZ

Posted October 26, 2005 - 01:27 PM

Uh oh! Better do a search. There have been many many posts on this. It is normal for them to heat up and glow if it is just idling. I think it was put best when someone said "they are like sharks, they like to keep moving."

• Trail Rider 7

Posted October 26, 2005 - 01:29 PM

If you leave the choke on to long the header will get cherry red.

• Rich_in_Orlando

Posted October 26, 2005 - 01:48 PM

Better sell it.

• byggd

Posted October 26, 2005 - 02:13 PM

If you leave the choke on to long the header will get cherry red.

That should be the opposite. A lean mixture burns hotter than a rich one :banghead:

• Matty05

Posted October 26, 2005 - 04:35 PM

Your exhaust gasses can get up to 900 degrees celcius.
I think I would glow too if I were that hot.

• ibleedblu

Posted October 26, 2005 - 04:54 PM

I had an 03 WR450, it did the same thing. Ialso did some research & everyone told me it was normal. I had the bike for 3 years and never had a single problem with it. :banghead:

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • rushfan

Posted October 26, 2005 - 06:41 PM

Better sell it.

Yup!!! It's broken. Buy another one. :banghead:

• Punisher660

Posted October 26, 2005 - 07:35 PM