Breather Tube

10 replies to this topic
  • snowman02

Posted October 26, 2005 - 07:14 AM

First of all Thanx to all in response to my carb problem.

I am not sure if I am just worrying to much, because of uncorking this bike or if I really do have a problem here. I ran my bike (02 WR426) around the yard last night. It was running for about 20 min. went through all the gears a couple times. After I turned the machine off, oil started dripping out of the breather tube (tube hangs down in stock position, have not placed it in air cleaner as of yet). After all said and done, it left a spot about 3" in diameter on the garage floor. The oil level is fine. I am going to change the oil and filter tonight. Is this leaking normal or should I worry??

I feel stupid :banghead: asking questions of this nature, but I am new to four stroke world. My last bike, currently selling is a 82 IT465. :banghead: So far I love this WR. Can't wait to hit the desert in it this weekend. Thanx All :lol:

• byggd

Posted October 26, 2005 - 07:55 AM

Yes it's normal for the 426 to drip some oil from that hose. That being said mine only drips 4 or 5 drops :banghead:

• Strattos

Posted January 01, 2006 - 09:03 PM

I've got a real dumb question on this topic. Is it normal for a fair bit of air to come out of the breather hose at idle? I know its called a BREATHER hose, but i accidently stuck my finger near it recently and was surprised by how much air was coming out.

• black_n_blue_thumper

Posted January 01, 2006 - 09:04 PM

Yeah man, it moves alot of air. I was real surprised too.

• ncampion

Posted January 02, 2006 - 06:53 AM

That's basically air that is blowing past the piston rings. The older the rings, the more the air.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • byggd

Posted January 02, 2006 - 07:18 AM

That's basically air that is blowing past the piston rings. The older the rings, the more the air.