Would a YZ426F/ YZ450F be a good bike for me

9 replies to this topic
  • kawirider

Posted October 24, 2005 - 05:34 PM

well I have been riding by kx 125 for the past 10 1/2 months and I definately need to move up now. I only ride trail but my 125 is not doing it for me seeing as I weigh 180. I have ridden an '03 before but I heard about the 426's having a big hit that can make them really hard to ride. Would the 426's, seeing as they dont have auto decompression, be relatively easy to start if I did the blue wire mod and stuck an iCat on it? thx for the help

• shanedut

Posted October 24, 2005 - 06:16 PM

The 426 is a good bike and i've had mine for 4 years, i've done the blue wire mod, bk mod, and my next step is the 450 cam for it. The 450 cam makes them have the autodecompression just like the 450s. I think they make great trail machines but i also like to play on the motocross track. If i was going to trail ride all the time, which is what it will be for when i get my new one. I think i would go with the rekluse clutch. I love my bike for trails and motocross and others on here do to.

• ESC

Posted October 25, 2005 - 07:34 AM

I just picked up an 01 YZ426 on Sunday.....I had previously been riding an old XR250. This 426 has power to spare and I love it. Its not too much but it sure goes when I want it to!! Mine is stock except for an FMF Titanium pipe. No BK mod, no blue wire mod and it starts on the first or second kick every time.

• Yak

Posted October 25, 2005 - 07:44 AM

I heard about the 426's having a big hit that can make them really hard to ride.

Completely false.

The 426 is the easiest bike to ride. The power delivery is so smooth compared to a 2 stroke, its a whole new ballgame. Also the power is always there. Just roll it on. no more slipping the clutch, dropping down 2 gears etc, like you would with your 125.

• kizzle426

Posted October 25, 2005 - 08:44 AM