WR400 Exhaust on YZ400

4 replies to this topic
  • caffd01

Posted August 21, 2001 - 03:57 PM

I recently bought '99 YZ400 with an FMF exhaust on it. Problem is it is way too loud for the woods. Has anyone fitted a WR exhaust(not header) on a YZ? I spoke to a cycle shop and the sales guy had his doubts about the bike running correctly. He mentioned the WR's different timing and cam, along with the fact that the WR exhaust is more restrictive and may hurt the YZ engine. Since I'm a thumper newbie, I need all the help I can get. Would it have any negative inpacts on the YZ engine? Would I need to re-jet? If so, what size? Let me know what you all think. Thanks guys.

• Bill

Posted August 21, 2001 - 04:53 PM

Once again the "knowledgable" have confirmed why TT is a great asset to us. The exhaust systems are completly interchangable and you may have to do some jetting (possibly down on the pilot and main, as well as raising the clip)

Change the pipe, ride it and find out. Nothing catastrophic will happen. There have been several people here that have put the WR pipe on a YZ. I traded my dub-R pipe to a YZ guy, for his YZ pipe.

------------------
99 WR400f, YZ timed, MX-Tech suspension, Scotts steering damper, White Bros E-Series (12 discs), tapered header and a/f. Kouba T-handle for the fuel screw. Works Connection billet throttle tube and frame guards. Cycra Pro-Bend, triple clamp mount handguards. Thumper Racing rad guards, Renthal Jimmy Button highs, YZ Tank and IMS seat, YZ number plate, odo removed, EKP #4, 50PJ, 175MJ at 500-1000' Thanks James Dean!

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • lewichris

Posted August 22, 2001 - 05:19 AM