CR 500 vs WR 426 ???

9 replies to this topic
  • dirt_biker

Posted August 20, 2001 - 10:25 PM

This may seem like a stupid question, but I really would appreciate some responses. What would win in a drag race between a WR 426 (with all the "free" mods done) and a CR 500? The reason I'm asking is because I've been riding a CR 500 for the past two years and am considering making the switch to a four-stroke. From what I've heard, the WR is pretty fast and seems to be suited to my riding conditions (everything from tight trails to some relly big wide open areas).

Posted August 21, 2001 - 02:21 AM

I had a ktm 360 and I have to admit it definitly had more power than my current wr with all the usual mods.

BUT the wr has much more useable power(in the eastern woods)

If your not in the sand dunes the wr has plenty-o-power.

to answer your question, I think the 500 would win with the same gear ratio.

You will not be dissapointed with the wr I was'nt

[This message has been edited by (edited 08-21-2001).]

• moto2000

Posted August 21, 2001 - 06:41 AM

Between my 00 YZ 426 and a friend's
CR500 its dead even. Doesn't matter
-starts, long straights, out of corners-
it all boils down to who ever got the
best jump out of the gate or the best
line through a corner.

There is a BIG difference in powerbands
between the two. The CR has a stronger
hit down low and pulls hard through
midrange, but that's about it. The 426 is
much more linear in its power delivery
and seems to pull forever on top end-
vibration free. IMO the 426 is a much
better all around motor.

I've never ridden a WR, but I don't think
there would be a big difference with
uncorked a little. Hope this helps you
get off your Honda :)

• freestyle111

Posted August 22, 2001 - 09:51 PM

• freestyle111

Posted August 23, 2001 - 04:50 AM

in a drag race cr500 will smoke any and all of our 400's.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • dirt_biker