Open pipe surgery!!

18 replies to this topic
  • BRP-rider

Posted October 14, 2005 - 07:53 PM

1990 XR600R

I was thinking of cutting open my stock pipe and removing the baffling, (make it louder and maybe increase power). Would the power increase, stay the same, or decrease do to no back pressure? :banghead:

Thanx

• Honda_Man_4

Posted October 14, 2005 - 10:37 PM

i believe it should increase a little bit, but i doubt itll be that noticeable. when we pull the baffles outa all my friends bikes and wheelers they run about the same but they sound a ton better. we have pulled a raptors, a crf 150, a crf 230, and an xr 100s baffles so far. the only one with noticeable differance in power was with the 100. but i am no expert by any means.

• Muzza

Posted October 15, 2005 - 03:04 AM

when we pull the baffles outa all my friends bikes and wheelers they run about the same but they sound a ton better........the only one with noticeable differance in power was with the 100. but i am no expert by any means.

:lol: :banghead: :lol: :lol: :busted: :banghead: Hot Diggity there Honda_Man_4, why not just pull the whole damned exhaust off including the header?
It will save some weight, make even more noise for no power gain etc. etc.
I guess that it's really all about making the loudest noise you possibly can so that should be just great.

By the way, is the '4' in your user name your IQ?
Loud pipes are Dumb, but not as dumb as the goons who make 'em loud!!

Please find another sport to ruin - maybe Tiddly Winks would be something that suits??? :busted: :busted:

• BRP-rider

Posted October 15, 2005 - 07:34 AM

Yeh, I heard about this guy who removed all the
baffling in his XR650 and it was unbearably loud.
He said after about 2-3 minutes, he couldn't stand it.
He said he couldn't imagine riding it for hours in the
forest. Can super loud constant noise for hours cause
headaches? :banghead:

• CrackiN

Posted October 15, 2005 - 07:53 AM