Sprocket question....

11 replies to this topic
  • kizzle426

Posted October 14, 2005 - 02:24 PM

I just got my new Renthal sprocket in and I was wondering if you had to use locktite to put it on and how much torque to use or if you can just tighten down really hard with the allen wrench. Thanks in advance for the help.

• grayracer513

Posted October 14, 2005 - 03:30 PM

If it's a front sprocket, no Loc-Tite, but do fold over the locking washer. If it's a rear, then yes, Loc-Tite is a good idea. The manual calls for 30 ft/lbs. I just run them down good and tight, but I have lots of experience with this stuff. Use your own judgment.

• matt116

Posted October 14, 2005 - 04:52 PM

It's a good idea to replace the rear sprocket bolt's.

• sirthumpalot

Posted October 15, 2005 - 04:19 AM

BE CAREFUL with the rear sprocket bolts. The stockers are aluminum and if you over torque them they will stretch and come loose on you while you're riding, and if you don't catch it in time you'll be buying a new rear hub. I highly recommend a torque wrench on the rear sprocket bolts. Locktite can't hurt.

• Hick

Posted October 16, 2005 - 01:29 PM

I forget, but doesn't the 426 have locknuts?

If so, they become less effective every time you use them. In fact, in many applications they are a single use item. I'm pretty sure I put metric nylocks on my 426.

Anyway, I can't recall if the 426 has them or not, but if so it is a good idea to replace them. Using loctite AND new locknuts certainly wouldn't hurt...

• sirthumpalot

Posted October 16, 2005 - 04:49 PM

My 426 did come with lock nuts. Not the nylock nuts, but all metal lock nuts. My stockers are long gone, but they did look like single use items to me, good call.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted October 16, 2005 - 05:10 PM