Even More Rekluse and Flywheel Weight Questions

15 replies to this topic
  • beasleys

Posted October 03, 2005 - 04:29 PM

My Rekluse should be in tomorrow afternoon. I can not wait to get it installed but I still have a a few questions. I have a 14 oz Zip-Ty Flywheel weight that I am already running. I understand the Rekluse adds approx 6 oz of weight to the flywheel also. Should I still run a total of 20 oz of weight? :banghead: Or should I remove the Zip-Ty and Start fresh with just the rekluse. I am a novice rider that rides 95% woods so I like the way the 14 oz feels and the way I didn't stall anymore but I am just afraid it may be to much of a good thing. If it matter I am also running a 14/52 gearing. Thanks for any and all input. :banghead:

• Scotty426

Posted October 03, 2005 - 05:07 PM

I hope you will post your results. I run a YZ 426 in tight, nasty woods as well. It sure sounds like a lot of weight. Frankly, I adore the "hit" of the YZ and have added no flywheel weight because when I do hit a straight it is great to rocket away. I bump up my idle each day I ride and run the boysen accel cover. This prevents almost all stalls. I do know that I looked into flywheel weights for stalls a while ago and they said that if the idle circuit isn't right, more weight will make stalling worse. I also saw a Dirt Bike article about a Suzuki RMZ 450 with a recluse that was very stall sensitive. If it were me, I would not run that much weight. I do not speak from experience. Also, some of the weights are mostly on the perimeter, some are heavy evenly throughout the material. SO- maybe your weight would be fine. Good luck to you either way. Please post the results.

• Anssi

Posted October 03, 2005 - 11:49 PM

I don't know which bike beasleys has, but an '03 450 is a very different beast from an '02 426. Different as in transformed from a tractor to a dragster with very little flywheel weight.

• beasleys

Posted October 04, 2005 - 08:23 AM