Rookie mechanic w/ questions

14 replies to this topic
  • Taewa

Posted September 27, 2005 - 01:36 PM

Hey guys...I am a total rookie mechanic, and I have a couple questions if you wouldn't mind helping me... :banghead:

1) Just bought a new K & N filter for my '99 WR 400. I took out the old foam one along with the plastic insert with a screen in it. Was that right? Should I have tried to leave the screen insert in the K & N filter at all?

2) My bike runs real well overall. I have good throttle response, and plenty of power for me across the range. The only problem I get is when I am cruising up something like a hill climb and kinda punching it, then i get to top and lay off completely...or other times when I am getting on it, then immediately bog it...it DIES. Any ideas on what could be going wrong here?

• SJMC_DON

Posted September 27, 2005 - 03:47 PM

The issue you have with going uphills could be related to your float adjustment. If it's set too low the carb can run out of gas on an incline. If you have a manual it will give the spec on the float adjustment. If you don't have a manual, let me know I can copy mine and fax it to you. :banghead:

The bog off idle with a quick snap of the throttle? Welcome to the world of 4 strokes. Maybe some of the more advanced tweakers here can tell you how to eliminate that but it's usually something that most of us live with and learn how to accept.

• Taewa

Posted September 27, 2005 - 04:41 PM

Thanks, I'll check on that floater. I do have a manual, but I appreciate your offer. Any input on the air filter issue anyone?

• Bamster

Posted September 28, 2005 - 04:47 AM

Has your bike had the BK mod done to it?
Do a search on the BK mod or free mods.

• Taewa

Posted September 28, 2005 - 08:22 AM