wr 450 no spark

4 replies to this topic
  • kwakebord

Posted September 25, 2005 - 07:03 PM

Hi Guys, I am new to WR land. Just bought a 2003 wr 450 with approx. 2 hrs of run time. it's true, the guy rode it at Pismo, and freaked at the squirrlyness of ridin sand and parked it. Thats where I came in, purchased for $3000.00 US dollars looks NEW NEW NEW Ah but it does'nt start.

Problem #1 looks like the starter clutch is not engaging, it simply spinns the starter, remove the cover, and the clutch assm. and the gear it engages to in side the housing spins both ways, more than likely the woodruff key is out. Any additional thoughts??

#2 No spark, The guy bought a new Yuasa, I have fully trickeled it outside the bike, fresh gas, drained the carb, He claims to have heard a back fire whilst kicking it, a day earlier. I currently have no spark. basicly I have laid the spark plug on the head bolt, and kicked like hell, no spark. I even tried to electicute myself, no jolt. pulled all connectors apart and checked tightness, did all the tests in the book, checked fuses, neutral switch, clutch switch main etc. all looks good. Got Clues??? Thanks Ken

Posted September 25, 2005 - 07:16 PM

More than likely the flywheel has spun on the crankshaft. Repair it and do the '04 starter upgrade. My bet is you will have spark. Also the ignition switch has to be on to get spark even when kick starting.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Indy_WR450

Posted September 25, 2005 - 07:42 PM

I agree most likely sheared flywheel key. O4 upgrade instructions are on this web site:

• kwakebord

Posted September 25, 2005 - 08:26 PM