Intermitent sputtering and popping in the exhaust

8 replies to this topic
  • WR_Dave

Posted September 25, 2005 - 04:05 PM

After 4 years and over 8 thousand Kms,my trusty 426 has grown a hiccup. 4 rides ago the bike started and ran for about 15 seconds then died and it wouldn't start again. I changed the plug and it fired up and I rode the rest of the day( a couple of unusal pops on decel during the ride) Next ride it popped and sputtered for about the first few km's of the ride and then it ran good again. 2nd last ride it started sputtering right off the truck and wouldn't quit so I changed the plug and it ran fine for about 20 mins. and then it started popping again. Last ride even changing the plug wouldn't get it to stop running like S#$t!. I have gone through the carb the last few times and found nothing wrong, I have been running the same jetting for 4 years with zero trouble of ANY kind. The bike has always performed flawlessly and a quick 1/8 turn of the Zip-ty fuel screw would make the decel pop disappear. The ACV has been flipped from new and the jetting has only gone up or down 1 size depending on the coolness of the weather we ride in. All free mods have been done and the valves are set perfectly. The decomp lever has plenty of free play and as I said the carb is CLEAN. I have checked all of the electrical and believe that I have found my problem . The CDI magneto checks out in the specs but the ignition coil has .5 ohms on the primary side(.2-.3 ohms spec) and it has 22.5 k ohms on the secondary( 9.4-14.6 k ohms spec). My question before I spend the money on a 450 coil in cap is has anyone had problems with the stock frame mounted coils. Just looking for a little TT'rs experiences to confirm that I am going after the right problem to get the ol'426 running like a champ again. Sorry for the long read and thanks for any help--WR Dave. :banghead: :applause:

• WR_Dave

Posted September 26, 2005 - 03:57 AM