? on lifter pad selection need advise!

5 replies to this topic
  • yamarider426

Posted September 20, 2005 - 10:03 PM

This is my first time adjusting valves on a thumper so bare with me.
I have a 00 yz426 that I bought from the original owner (who barly rode it)and I wanted to make sure valve clearance was in speck. All three intakes were at .005 and both exhaust were at .007. The intakes had #179 pads on outside valves and 175 in the center. My shop manual on a '01 426 says (according to chart) to replace the 179's with 175's. What I dont understand is; From what I hear the valves tend to get tighter and if the speck tolerances call for between .010 and .015 by installing what the chart says I will theareticly be at .09. If I went to 170's I will at .014. And on the center one should i go with the (called for 170, or 165. to put me at .015. I guess the main question is is it better to be on the high end or low end of specs?
Thanks in advance for advise! :banghead:

• mnm567

Posted September 22, 2005 - 06:51 AM

Just make the proper change to get the valves in spec. You are talking about 5 hundredths of a millimeter, that is very small. .09 is out of the proper specs .14 is within the specs. Go with the 175 to get the outside intake valves to the proper clearance. Your goal should be to get the valve clearances within specs. So measure the clearance when the motor is completely cold. I usually wait overnight before I check them. If the intake valves are in the range, don't mess with them. if they are off, follow the chart in your manual. The pads you buy are usually sold in 5 hundredth increments so a 175 is "5 hundredths" larger than a 170 pad. Since the range is from .10-.15mm you don't really have many options. If the valves are within that range you are fine. Hope this rambling helped! Matt

• grayracer513

Posted September 22, 2005 - 08:03 AM