New WR450 owner has questions

10 replies to this topic
  • hankdog

Posted September 12, 2005 - 01:32 PM

Just secured a new '05 WR450...been dual sporting a KLR for a couple of years, and wanted a real dirtbike! I know there are some simple mods that are typically made to the WR450...my dealer tells me he removed the throttle stop already - how would I know?

Also, I've heard something about a grey wire? What's with that?

I've put about 100 easy miles on it...the engine seems to be breaking in and revving more freely and has plenty of power for my limited dirt riding skills! I've installed the ProBend hand guards, Flatland skid guard, and TrailTech computer, and plan to install the Flatland radiator guards (yes, I expect to fall down occasionally). What's next guys? Offer your wisdom to a newbie WR450 owner!

• Flaminchiten1967

Posted September 12, 2005 - 01:38 PM

I am also new to the dirt biking scene and am loving my WR.

If your throttle only rotates about and 1/8th of a turn then the throttle stop is still there if it is more like 1/2 a twist then it is removed.

The grey wire changes the timing from WR to YZ timing which allows it to rev more freely by not retarding the timing as much (correct me if im wrong here people)

What I did in order was, Throttle stop, grey wire, remove AIS, and jetting these mods made a huge difference in the bike, next step will be a slip on muffler and then the guards and stuff for me.

Hope that helps.

• dman450f

Posted September 12, 2005 - 01:39 PM

Just secured a new '05 WR450...been dual sporting a KLR for a couple of years, and wanted a real dirtbike! I know there are some simple mods that are typically made to the WR450...my dealer tells me he removed the throttle stop already - how would I know?

Also, I've heard something about a grey wire? What's with that?