What's a clear sign an airhead is overheating?

10 replies to this topic
  • ghoti

Posted August 31, 2005 - 08:54 AM

Are there any? I ride in stop and go traffic some days over 100º. I notice a slight decrease in power but that's it. Is there anything that means shut it down NOW?

• TahomaTom

Posted August 31, 2005 - 10:45 AM

Do you have a temp dip stick? I am no expert but that is what I go by. I give her a rest once it hits 290-300.

• TimBrp

Posted August 31, 2005 - 10:47 AM

The bike will ping like it's running on bad gas.

• ghoti

Posted August 31, 2005 - 12:18 PM

So it'll start knocking? Certainly not fatal. A harley (883 I think) passed me while i was waiting for the light yesterday and it sounded like there were a fist full of nuts in each cylinder :D I don't have a temp dipstick...290º is darn hot, what temp would the wrist pin seize. Anyone know what temp dino oil gets all gummy?

• roadcam

Posted September 01, 2005 - 01:48 AM

I read petroleum-based oils start breaking down at 300 degrees, synthetics at 600 - 700 degrees, ... and the split-second the oil film passes over a bearing journal, it hits 900 degrees ... dont know how accurate those figures are, but I found them on some oil maufacturers website a long time ago

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • TREADMARKS

Posted September 01, 2005 - 03:01 AM

My Harley will begin limiting the ignition cycles to help keep it cool around 260-270. It has happened once while stuck in traffic. I installed a jag oil cooler with two hi flow fans, and used a hayden solid state thermostat to control them. it has not been over 210 since. And it is hell hot here in Miami. I could always tell it was getting hot by the ticking noise coming from the engine. The hotter it gets, the louder it ticks.