Scotts Stabilizer HELP!!!!

11 replies to this topic
  • 600ish

Posted August 15, 2005 - 09:29 PM

Me and a friend are racing Vegas to Reno in Oct. and I am ready to order a Scotts stabilizer for his '01 650R and I see they have a very expensive front mount kit to make it easy to check the oil. How tough is it to check the oil with the standard mount. Any tips would be appreciated. I'm new to stabilizers, :D

• my98mugen

Posted August 15, 2005 - 09:57 PM

Do you really wanna take the stabilizer off and the mount just to check the oil duing a race. Racing ain't cheap. Get the right mount.

• Supplicate

Posted August 16, 2005 - 02:41 AM

Get the right mount.

or do the oil sight tube mod.

• Mikie1

Posted August 16, 2005 - 08:38 AM

You can use a GPR front post/ tower. It's way cheaper than the Scotts.

• Moredesert

Posted August 16, 2005 - 11:43 AM

I went with the front mount and like it. It's strong and out of the way. You don't want to screw around with the dip stick mount. IMHO When you buy the kit make sure you move the bars as far forward as you can. I ran Pro-tapers and they are centered over the fork tubes. You can bearly see the position in the picture on my web site

• BWB63

Posted August 16, 2005 - 11:51 AM

I went with the post off the oil dip stick mount. I hate it! :D :D :eek: I have the oil site tube and I still hate taking it all apart for every oil change. :eek: :D

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • mikekay

Posted August 16, 2005 - 06:37 PM

i have an extra front mount (made by BRP). i switched to GPR on my 650 just so i could do an under the bars mount...i put the Scotts on my Husky.

make me a deal and its yours...

dont even think about running a rear mount on the pig.

• Desertskyy

Posted August 16, 2005 - 08:25 PM