01 426 Top End question

6 replies to this topic
  • 426_Pilot

Posted August 11, 2005 - 07:15 PM

Just rec'd a new piston and gasket kit for the 01. I've never done a 4 stroke top end before, but have no doubt that I can. My engine is stock and has all the original parts in it with the exception of new clutch plates. I'm the original owner.

Can I just pull the old piston out and install the new one, or do I need to do any honing? I certainly wouldn't do any honing or boring myself unless it was really easy. Any tips/pointers would be greatly appreciated.

BTW, I've never had a lick of problem with this bullet proof machine. Thanks in advance.

• Slowmotion426

Posted August 11, 2005 - 07:42 PM

I just finished piston, rings, cam chain etc last monday on my 01' 426. I measured the cylinder bore to make sure it was still in spec. I measured my old piston to see if it had any deformities. It didn't. The cylinder was well within the tolerances shown in the manual. I took a 220 grit scotchbrite pad and lightly rubbed the cylinder to break the glaze. I could have re-used the original piston but since I had already ordered a new one I put it in with new rings. Just check your cylinder with a bore gauge and micrometers. If it's in tolerance you can just scuff it up with the scotchbrite pad. Just make sure you have a fine grade and barely take the glazing off. Make sure you apply oil to the piston, and the cylinder before putting it back together. Make sure you orient all the ring ends according to the manual. The oil ring is in three pieces and can be a challenge for a first timer. Just take your time. And you're right, these bikes are bulletproof. I still have all my original valves too. And they're all in spec ( I pulled them out and measured them for trueness and measured the lip tolerances). Good luck.

• grayracer513

Posted August 11, 2005 - 08:06 PM