New 400F Owner...Need feedback.

16 replies to this topic
  • YZippy

Posted August 05, 2005 - 04:55 PM

Hi all. I have just purchased a 98 YZ 400F after a 6 and one half year lay off. Came off RM 250 and was planning to purchase another 2 stroke, but came across a deal too good to pass up. Since I have no real experience with a thumper I thought this would be a great place to seek advice. Any feedback would be appreciated. Looking forward to visiting here.

Oil. What do you recommend. I am leaning toward a synthetic after reading several articles. I saw Motul, Spectro, AMSOil Honda, and Yamaha oil at the shop. Any recommendations.

Flywheel. Shocked at how light the flywheel is for a 4 stroke. Any experience with Flywheel weights. 60% of my time will be in the woods.

Gearing. Right now it is a 14-49. Not sure if this is stock. The previous owner hasn't mailed me the shop manual yet.

Graphics. Factory Effex Graphics look great except on the tank. Gas spills got em. What is good to use to glue them back down??

Thans for any replies. I'm sure I'll be here often as I get more seat time.

• mxmark

Posted August 05, 2005 - 09:30 PM

Congratulaion on the new bike and welcome to the board and back to riding. I bought a 1998 YZ400F in 1998 and I loved it. You will love it too. I will try to answer some of you questions when I wake up. Enjoy Mark

Oil I used yamalube 4R and i have used Motul also, I lean more to the semi-synthetics but that just me. I like that the petrolieumMot

• Badazraptor700

Posted August 06, 2005 - 12:12 AM

I have an '01 WR426 with an '04 YZ450 auto decompression exhaust cam and a carb accelerator pump diaphragm which has a longer pin to limit accelerator pump volume. It revs just like a 2-stroke with no bog off idle and it's faster in the woods than before these additions. These were probably the best additions I've put on it. I found all the p/n's & info needed here on thumpertalk.

• 93gt

Posted August 06, 2005 - 04:56 AM