How to put CRF Plastics on your BRP?

13 replies to this topic
  • Jolly705

Posted August 04, 2005 - 06:16 AM

I have seen a few photos of the XR650R or L with CRF plastics on it. Is this a direct swap or do you have to fabricate some things? Do you need everything including the tank and seat? I was thinking of doing something similar to my other bike (upgrade 04 to 05 plastics) but I needed to get the tank, seat, etc. which was too much money.

Thanks.

• BSharp

Posted August 04, 2005 - 08:05 AM

I have seen a few photos of the XR650R or L with CRF plastics on it. Is this a direct swap or do you have to fabricate some things? Do you need everything including the tank and seat? I was thinking of doing something similar to my other bike (upgrade 04 to 05 plastics) but I needed to get the tank, seat, etc. which was too much money.

Thanks.

I'm a total Noob, but for what it's worth I don't think it's a direct swap. I PM'ed someone who posted a picture of an XR with CRF bodywork to ask how he did it and he said it was a bear. Had to reshape the plastic tank using a heat gun, that kind of thing. His was an older XR but I doubt the frames and mounting points are any more harmonious on a newer XR. Too bad too, it looks bitchin'.

• jmeperu

Posted April 11, 2007 - 08:47 PM

i want mine to look like this one. what tank is this? ive seen a few on bikes on here. i want!

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

• ogrider650

Posted April 11, 2007 - 09:01 PM

arent those those smaller crf tanks that you can buy? otherwise those graphics won't fit too small i believe

• porterdog

Posted April 12, 2007 - 04:05 AM

I've done some research on this and there's no easy or cheap answer that I found.

The first couple tanks posted by jmeperu are by BL-Italia (http://www.blitalia.com/), cost ~$450, and are only a smidge bigger than the stocker.