lookin @ 01 yz426

14 replies to this topic

Posted July 22, 2005 - 01:35 AM

hey all,
im new to this section of TT due to me ridin a wr400. but im movin up gears and lookin at an 01 YZ426.

I'm goin to have a look at the bike tomoz arvo and im lookin for some info on the bike, like how they go (similar hit to the yz450?) and the problems (if any) that can occour over time and preventative things i can do to stop it.
I know they have titainium valves, beefier clutch, better designed pipe & carb settings over the 2000 model, am i right ???

Are there any tell tale signs of problem bike bar the obvious, dirty filter, oil, hard to start when cold (valves)
The owner says it is in immaculate condition with about 30hrs on it since new. (he didnt own the bike new !)

but any advise or hints and tips for buyin a 2nd hand moto would be really appreciated.

• Yamaguy4Life

Posted July 22, 2005 - 05:03 AM

I have an 01 and I love it. I moved up from a 125, so It's a lot different. No real problems so far (once you learn how to keep it running and restarting). Mine is like new too. The guy was afraid of it and never rode it. The thing is a beast.

It might just be perception, but the newer bikes do look to be easier to start. I've had good luck restarting mine, but if you stall it in a race, you can just forget about keeping your position.

Good luck. I hope that it works out for you.

• Math

Posted July 22, 2005 - 05:24 AM

Most tters will tell you they are very reliable bikes. Specially considering it's a full motocrosser.

The main difference with the earlier 450s (03 and up) other than the bigger displacement is that the 450s have an auto decomp exhaust cam. You can fit an earlier yz450 exhaust cam in it if you want the auto decomp. It works pretty good. The bike becomes really easy to kickstart with such a cam.

You will also have a steel subframe... I'm not sure though when the alu one came out. Think it was in 2003.