Rebleeding my rear brake...Need help

8 replies to this topic
  • freestyle250

Posted July 17, 2005 - 06:07 PM

So I was out on a ride this last Saturday and took a real small jump. When I landed I guess something must have popped loose because when I came riding up behind my buddy to stop my rear brake didnt work. So I instinctively yanked the front and almost went over the bars. Upon inspection, I found that when I replaced the bolt that holds the brake line to the brake pedal, I must not have tightened it down enough. So now I have to rebleed it, but I have never done a motorcycle before. Ive bleed mountain bike brakes, but I was just wondering if there is any good technique. Also, what kind of brake fluid should I use?

• flatnacker

Posted July 17, 2005 - 06:36 PM

You use the rear brake??

• freestyle250

Posted July 18, 2005 - 11:26 AM

Only on steep loose decents. Gets a little freaky without one imo

• flatnacker

Posted July 18, 2005 - 04:04 PM

Yikes, I never touch the rear brake on steep decents!!! Al front brake othewise you will get crossed up very quickly!! Anyways the method I use that works pretty well and is the same for all brakes is to simple pump the brake, hold it down, then momentarilly crack the bleeder valve, then repeat the process until the line is purger of al air and is nice and firm.Obviously you will need to resivour (sp?) cap off so you can top it up. Havent realy experimented with different brands all that much.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • drewpeacock

Posted July 18, 2005 - 04:44 PM

While on the subject of brakes :applause: has anyone had to buy the rebuild kit, i.e. plunger,o-rings? I've tried everthing to get rid of my wifes spungy brakes (yz250f) and nothing works.

• mjskier

Posted July 18, 2005 - 06:10 PM