post break-in advice?

9 replies to this topic
  • rm

Posted March 07, 2001 - 10:40 PM

i have to start by saying that this is a great site.
i'm new to riding and just got a 01 wr426. how long should i break it in for?
i've already ridden it 20 miles.
what do i need to look at or service besides what's recomended in the manual?
how do i adjust the clutch?
also, what initial basic upgrades can i make that require little cash and little mechanical ability?
i am totally new to this-owned an atc 185s as a kid but haven't ridden in over 15 years-so any help and advice would be appreciated.
also, i fly a helicopter for a living and the other day something really bad almost happened because i was thinking about my new this just going to get worse?

• Guest_Guest_*

Posted March 08, 2001 - 12:10 AM

do a search under "break in". It has been discussed many times. Ton's of differing opinions. I rode 20 miles, changed the oil. I repeated this until there was no metal shavings in my filter screen. Total 3 rides. Shut down and cool every 10 or 15 min.

• WR400inOZ

Posted March 08, 2001 - 02:55 AM

All I can say is tape your gonads up real good cause that bike will be the test of how big they really are! hehe

Yeah I agree with RM, do a search and you will find lots of info..mixed methods and basically good all round advice.

As for mods... run the bike in, get the feel of it and you wil probably find you won't need to do amny if any mods.. just twist the throttle and hang on!

I also suggest you register as people tend to take posts a little more seriously if you do.

P.S go over the whole bike and make sure EVERYTHING is greased and properly lubed up!
I was suprised at how 'little' grease was in some important spots.

• TheBOS

Posted March 08, 2001 - 05:57 AM

Originally posted by WR400inOZ:

P.S go over the whole bike and make sure EVERYTHING is greased and properly lubed up!
I was suprised at how 'little' grease was in some important spots.